Davey Doubles in Hibbing (7-19-14)

posted Jul 22, 2014, 6:48 AM by janice daronco
 by Greg Anderson
  Hibbing, MN- With a high still lingering following the massively successful World of Outlaws show, it was back to business at Hibbing Raceway as all five classes returned for American Cancer Society “Pack the Stands Night” presented by Cliffs Natural Resources, Triumph Twist Drill, MTD Real Estate, General Waste, Tom & Jerry's Bar, and Portable John . Not only was it back to business, there was some past business that needed to be attended to in the form of two make-up features from a previous rainout.


The first make-up feature on the card was the WISSOTA Super Stocks and it was survival of the fittest in the rough and tumble event. Andy Davey raced ahead of the trouble and stayed there en route to his first win of the year in Hibbing. Davey was followed to the stripe by the previous week’s runner up Kevin Burdick.


The make-up feature for the Pure Stocks was also a war of attrition and when it was all said and done, Victor Westerlund emerged as the victor. After Matt Cunha and Cody Herrick swapped the lead in the opening laps, Westerlund moved past and worked his way through traffic to build a large lead that was too much to overcome for second finishing Mike Blevins and the rest of the field.


The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds kicked off regular feature racing action and they provided the fans with a memorable and surprising outcome. Veteran racer Bill Matdorf held command over the first half of the race before Skeeter Estey took control. Estey appeared to be headed to victory lane when a battle behind him between Matzdorf and Don Scholler ended up with Matzdorf coming to a stop. On the restart, Scholler blasted to the outside of Estey and raced around the leader to take over up front. Scholler continued his mission straight to the checkered flag for his first career feature win in Hibbing. Skeeter’s brother Mack also slipped past to take second after starting sixteenth.


Two Grand Rapids drivers paced the field in the WISSOTA Modified feature and both took turns leading. Paul Schultz led the initial circuit before Bob Broking raced around him to the point. From there, Broking started to pull away while a scramble ensued behind him. Jeff Tardy emerged and took his shot before having issues and Kelly Estey then found his way through traffic into the runner up spot but ultimately, Broking held strong and raced to his first win of the year in Hibbing after a several week absence.


The WISSOTA Late Models picked up the momentum from last week and provided excellent racing action once again. Former track champion Terry Lillo charged ahead of Greg Ferris at the onset and that ended up to be the move of the race as Lillo led all 30 laps. Kyle Peterlin outlasted Ferris and Jeff Provinzino in sometimes three-wide fashion and closed on the leader at times but Lillo was up to the task as he raced to his first win of the year.


The Pure Stocks concluded the long evening of racing and after coming up short in the make-up feature, there was no denying Mike Blevins a second time as he cruised to the win. Blevins overtook Jeremy Theisen early on and fought off Thursday’s winner Gary Ruzich through traffic to grab the checkered flag.


Racing on Saturday, July 26 will be presented by Rodney’s Radiator, AEOA, and Arrowhead Transit and Hall of Fame Inductions will take place at intermission. For more information, visit www.hibbingraceway.com or call (218) 262-2324


 WISSOTA Late Models:

Feature- Terry Lillo, Kyle Peterlin, Jeff Provinzino, Greg Ferris, Harry Hanson, Jeff Massingill, Zach Wohlers, Chris Olson, Jay Kintner, Mark Heinle, George Ledin, Jay Kintner, Greg Hill, Tom Cianni, Steve Reini, Matt Maki, Bobby Carlson, Roger Paolo, Travis Budisalovich


WISSOTA Modifieds:

Feature- Bob Broking, Kelly Estey, Devin Vanhouse, Jeff Broking, Cory Sersha, Jeff Wood, Rick Cannata, Marcus Damjanovich, Jeff Tardy, Matt Anderson, Ken Mosteller, Sam Skalsky, Phil Gavel, Mike Bader, Paul Schultz, Nikki Wrazidlo, Jeffery Wood, Johnny Broking


WISSOTA Super Stocks:

Feature- Andy Davey, Kevin Burdick, Derek Vesel, Tyler Kintner, Dalton Carlson, Tristan Labarge, Bob Kintner, Kyle Oman, Trevor Arens, Kevin Salin, Mike Zasadini, Jr Tardy, Butch Butcher, Eric Pierzina, Andy Labarge


WISSOTA Super Stocks:

Feature- Andy Davey, Derek Vesel, Tyler Kintner, JR Tardy, Kevin Burdick Bob Kintner, Trevor Arens, Butch Butcher, Andy Labarge, Eric Pierzina, Dalton Carlson, Kevin Salin, Tristan Labarge, Kenny Swart


 WISSOT A Midwest Modifids:

Feature- Don Scholler, Mack Estey, Skeeter Estey, Nick DaRonco, Devin Vanhouse, Dan Wilson, Jesse Ogston, Willy Thompson, Jeff Forseen, Don Craig, Mark Kangas, Dylan Miller, Chad Vanduker, Jarek Lamusga, Bill Matzdorf, Patrick Bolden, Mark Miller, Brad Hanson, David Simpson, Keith Niemi


Pure Stocks:

Feature-  Mike Blevins, Gary Ruzich, Margo Butcher, Victor Westerlund, Jeremy Theisen, Tyler Chrysler, Cody Herrick, Dave White, Nick Cimermancic, Keith Koski, Shauna Erickson, Robert Adair, Lee Ruzich, Matt Cunha, Vinzent Anderson, Anthony Cappo, Stephen Erickson


Pure Stocks:

Feature- Victory Westerlund, Michael Blevins, Jeremy Theisen, Margo Butcher, Matt Cuhna, Keith Koski, Anthony Cappo, Dave White, Robert Adair, Shauna Erickson, Vinzent Anderson, Cody Herrick, Brad Farmer, Gene Schultz, Kristy Bailey